Elise wasn’t happy when Daddy didn’t come home last Friday night.  Elise really wasn’t happy when mommie didn’t come home after 1-2 hours on Saturday.  Elise was esctatic to see us when we came home on Sunday, but she realized that she had to ensure the depature didn’t occur again.  We went to Chris’s company party in Dallas, and I think she is close to succeeding in keeping me home next year.  She’s been cranky, she’s been up at night, and generally acting like she’s at least 3 months younger then she is.  In summary, not my sweet baby.  I know, I know.  I left her, I deserve it. 

In the midst of all this, she has started to walk.  It started as 1-2 tiny baby steps and an immediate drop down to the floor on her bum.  A couple of nights ago, she walked 5 whole steps and beamed at Chris and I.  She’s so adorable.  She’s so proud.  I walk in to get her from the crib in the morning and she’s practicing.  I can already see her dedicated personality.  She’s so methodical.  It’s as if she sets these goals for herself.  “Ok, today 1 more step and 10 more intervals.” 

I said this to Joelle all the time and it didn’t work, but I’ll try it again, “Elise, just stay little.”  I’ll put up with the crankiness when I go away because I know how much you love me.  I’d love for you to stay little so that you keep that adoration of me and I can cuddle with you swallowed up in my lap.  Joelle still tries (and you both try when one or the other is already there), but she’s got these long thin legs that hang over.

