I may regret trying to teach my daughter this trick, but I’ve been trying to teach Joelle that sometimes when you ask for things sweetly, you’re more likely to get what you want.  In any event, she usually gets what she wants anyway, so it’d be nice to have a little less attitude and rudeness.

So, I said to her, “maybe you should ask for things sweetly, like sugar.  When you ask for things in a mean way, like salt, we’re less likely to want to do it.”  Daddy, Joelle and I take turns choosing restaurants for our Saturday night out.  Daddy’s up next, but Joelle has been really wanting to try a new cafe down the road.  I coached her on how to cajole Daddy to choose Wellby’s for his next dinner out.  We’ll see if she remembers (I’ve coached daddy to concede defeat if she does ask nicely.)

If she doesn’t heed my advice, at least she listened.  She said, “mom, I like salt.  So, I think we should say it’s salt when we’re being nice and pepper when we’re being mean.”  If you hear me say, “Remember to ask saltly,” you’ll know what I’m saying. 

