I’m so esctatic that Poppy got to see one of Elise’s firsts.  He’s always so vocal about not having seen most of her other firsts.  Poppy and I were with Elise in the play room.  She’s started cruising a bit, moving from one piece of furniture to another for support.  She did that, moving from one item to another.  Suddenly, she just let go.  I was right in front of her when she did it.  You could see the realization of her action sink into her eyes.  She had a brilliant moment of, “I did it.”  Then, “Crap, I gotta go down.”  Plop, she landed down on her bottom.  This was on Joelle’s birthday last week.  It’s only a matter of time before she craves that adrenaline rush again…

Meanwhile, I took her to her first Little Gym class on Friday.  She adored every minute of it.  She knew it was for her and reveled in it.  Second babies are usually just go babies – everything about their older sibling.  So, I’m grateful to get to do this with little Lis.  She held on to monkey bars, jumped on a mini air mattress, climbed a foam mountain, did a wheel barrow, etc.  My favorite moment though was during the last circle time.  I sat her down in the circle and she immediately started to crawl off.  She thought, “mommie, stuff to see.”  Then, the teacher started singing and bringing the bells out.  She turned and started crawling back with purpose, hitting the mat hard with her tiny hands.  “Oh, I can’t miss the bells.” 

