We were sitting in Fuddrucker’s the other day and Joelle asked who sang a song that was playing. Most of the songs they play are from the 1960’s. I knew most of them and I started thinking – how did I learn these songs? My parents didn’t play music from the 1960’s all the time. Growing up without the internet (“dark ages”), we had to either listen to the music on the radio or play it in the house/in the car….and we didn’t do either.

Then I realized at least a piece of the equation. The 1980’s TV commercials selling music compilations. Those of you who watched a lot of TV during the 80’s will remember them. They usually a loose “theme” with cheesy actors in the background while the names/artists scroll on the screen with a medley of the “hits” playing. I guess that turned out to be an effective way to cram a couple of decades of music into kids’ heads. Think about it – you get the tune and the artist for about 20 popular songs within a couple of minutes. And you see the same commercials over and over and over again. I watched the CCR example and it was as if I had just seen it yesterday.

Here are some examples of what I’m talking about. I know I’m not the only one who remembers these, right?

1. “Heartbeat” – too bad I couldn’t find a good quality video of this one.

2. “CCR” – this one is the most memorable to me for some reason. I could only find it with another commercial (for “Lamar Savings”…a symbol of the S&L Crisis in the 80’s) in front of it, which is humorous in its own right.

3. “Freedom Rock” – I always assumed that they were trying to be over the top on cheesiness here, but I could be wrong. Embedding is disabled on this one so you’ll have to click HERE to view it.

