“And with all the party invitations stuffed into parents’ mailboxes these days, making her children’s birthday parties the ones that parents clamor to place on their youngster’s social calendar is definitely a priority.”  (Absolutely! Memorial by Kathy Suerth)

No, I’m not making this up.  It was taken from an article about throwing birthday parties for your child(ren).  I hope that if I ever get this crazy, someone will shake some sense into me.  Or, tell me to find a job.

Which leads me to something else that has been on my mind…  I’m reading a new book for book club:  The Feminine Mistake.  The author asserts that women should not stay home with their children because it makes us economically vunerable.  I think she says we are making a “willfully retrograde choice.”  For obvious reasons, this put me into a bit of a foul mood for a few days.  Who likes to hear that they are ruining all the work done by the feminist movement and are putting themselves at risk if their husband divorces them, is disabled or dies? 

Luckily, Bennetts arguments haven’t dazzled me thus far.  I will concede that it is true that if something were to happen to our marriage, I would definitely be more vunerable.  It is Chris who has gotten his MBA and continued to make strides in the working world.  If I go back to work in 10 years, I will be starting over.  I’m ok with that.  I am confident that I would always be able to provide for myself.  It may not be at the same level as I am now, but even working women would find themselves at a lower income bracket if they divorced.  Isn’t that the biggest drawback of divorce?  If I am worth $138,000 a year (quoted on the Today show), as a mom who stays home, wouldn’t Chris find himself economically setback if we were separated?  Certainly, his quality of life would suffer if he didn’t start paying someone to do all the cleaning, cooking, etc.  I would rather enjoy my 30s now with my children and have to work when I’m 40-60.  I honestly always felt that I didn’t want children if I couldn’t enjoy them.

She says that we’re letting down women by not fighting for better workplace environments for families.  Wouldn’t I be letting down myself if I didn’t stay home?  This is my choice.  Maybe I’ll be encouraging more leniancy towards women who have taken a hiatus to raise kids and want to return to the workforce.  Maybe companies can have aggressive training programs for those who haven taken a decade to raise kids.

It’s strange that I consider myself a pessimist and can so easily dismiss the tragedies spun by Bennett’s forecast of my future.  I guess I have complete faith in Chris and in myself. 

Although I have a dreaded cold (hate colds in the summer), I enjoyed my mother’s day.  I got to see one daughter dance and snuggled with the other for a marathon nappie.  I love falling asleep to the sound of that binky being sucked. 

