In my opinion, there are two camps of people:  those who like to see the same movies and read the same books over and over and those who don’t.  To Kill a Mockingbird was our latest Alley adventure.  Truthfully, I wasn’t that excited about seeing it.  I knew exactly what would happen and have always thought that was boring – knowing the ending before the play even began.

However, I loved it.  It was a wonderful production and I think I learned something very valuable.  These older classics can demonstrate how much you’ve changed.  I did really like To Kill a Mockingbird in high school, but it was superficial.  I liked the story and found it entertaning.  Who wouldn’t laugh at Dill?  However, I didn’t comprehend the magnitude and true meaning of the story.  I now see how losing your child(ren) is the greatest sacrafice and sadness.  I also mourned for Tom Robinson with a greater intensity because I knew what it would feel like to leave your children.  I can imagine how distraught he felt – distraught enough to try to escape prison.  I wonder what other classics would have new meaning to me?  Perhaps, I will side with the other camp and start rereading some of my favorites from high school.