There is a common English word that is nine letters long. Each time you remove a letter from it, it still remains an English word — from nine letters right down to a single letter. What is the original word, and what are the words that it becomes after removing one letter at a time? (not a trick question)

I imagine just going in from scratch that that is a tough one – I happened to see the answer at the same time I saw the question. Here’s a hint – try starting with a one letter word (ok, “i” or “a”) and then build to see how long of a word you can make. I’ll try to think if I can think of any ones that are at least 7 or 8 letters long though (besides the one that is the answer). I’ll post the answer in a day or so in the comments section. If you can’t sleep because of it let me know and I’ll e-mail it to you or it can be found on the web (since that’s where I found it).

While we’re on the subject of brainteasers, check out this guy. At the same time both utterly amazing and useless.

